Confused in training `AmortizedPosteriorEstimator`

I am fairly new to Bayesflow and BayesianFlowNetworks in general, I was previously developing a Bayesian Neural Network using tensorflow_probability but moved to BFN once I saw Bayesflow.

I have simulated data related to Astrophysics that is stored on the disk which is actually a dataset with features and corresponding labels as in usual deep learning,

I have a few questions, for each of them I have gone through the docs but wasn’t able to clear myself on the matter:

1. While training, using the trainer.train_offline(), what is the simulation_dict supposed to be, should it only contain my X_train, or is it supposed to contain both X_train, y_train, or y_train only, consequently what is prior_draws in this context, is it related to y_train or is it only the draws from prior object I defined,

2. I have a 3D object as input for each example and a 1D vector (len=3) as output labes, so with batch_size the exact shape is (batch_size, 100, 1000, 2) for each input, how do I incorporate this in a DeepSet model, it seems to only accept 2D inputs, not 3D.

Hi, welcome to the BayesFlow Forums!

Just to clear up any misunderstandings: BayesFlow does not (currently) implement Bayesian Flow Networks (BFN; [2308.07037] Bayesian Flow Networks). BFNs are quite new and the name collision is an unfortunate coincidence.

BayesFlow mainly implements normalizing flows (hence the name) and flow matching for conditional density estimation. You can use BayesFlow for (Bayesian) parameter estimation or model comparison.

You can find more information here:

Hope that helps. Cheers,
Marvin

1 Like

Thankyou for taking out time to reply, I really appreciate that. Could you please respond to my second question too? I have figured out the first one but would appreciate a response on that too Thanks again